4 Lessons From The Real Estate X Gala

Imagine this:

101st floor of the newest Hudson Yards building

View of upper Manhattan

Sun setting

Surrounded by a bunch of real estate enthusiasts

That was last weeks Real Estate X Gala

This week, I am here to share the details and lessons learned from being around some of the worlds sharpest real estate investors

Resource of The Week

Have you ever had to create a presentation or pitch and wanted some inspiration?

Here’s your solution:

This slide deck search engine has TONS of free slide decks

Best part is you can search by industry (the real estate section is great)

Whenever I am stuck staring at a screen, I will use this as a resource

Check it out 👇

4 Lessons From The Real Estate X Gala

Lesson 1: Big Places Make You Think Bigger

In New York City, ambitious real estate projects are everywhere you look

When you are surrounded by examples of what can be achieved, it almost becomes more possible in your brain

And then when you meet the people behind these ambitious projects, you realize they aren’t that much different than you

They just think bigger and execute on that idea

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not easy

But the majority of people will never think as big as the people doing real estate in New York City

A little taste of what’s possible is always helpful, at least for me

Lesson 2: Create Your Own Luck

I am often reminded of this quote by Jon Gray:

Luck is a core competency

Jon Gray

I really believe you can manufacture your own luck

I did it

You see, a few years ago I had zero digital presence

Then I started a Twitter account

I began to meet people

Fast forward to today, I have real relationships with many people I have met through Twitter

People I can rely on

People I can call in a pinch

Take that action that may lead to '“creating your own luck”

Me and Justin Pugh

Lesson 3: In Person Experiences Are Irreplaceable

I am an advocate of working remotely

I love the freedom it allows

But I also understand the power of being in person with people

Having unique experiences with them

The serendipitous conversations that occur

It all works to developing deeper relationships

The Real Estate X Gala re-taught me there is no replacement for in person events / experiences

Lesson 4: Keep Focused

There is no doubt the real estate industry is going through difficult times right now

The resounding sentiment amongst people I spoke with was somewhat pessimistic

People aren’t doing deals

It is slow

When the sentiment is so, history teaches us it is often a good time to be a buyer

Time will tell

Final Thoughts

If you get the invite to next years Gala, I highly recommend making it to New York City for the event. It was first class all the way. In an epic venue. And Strip Mall Guy is a GREAT guy.

Thanks for reading - until next week,

Jake

Whenever you are ready, here are a few ways I can help

  1. Free Excel real estate operations template - HERE

  2. Promote yourself to 1,600+ real estate professionals by sponsoring this newsletter

Join the conversation

or to participate.